Asia Cup 2012 held in Bangladesh is the 11th edition of the tournament. China was very much interested to host the Asia Cup at Guangzhou, but the Asian Cricket Council decided that Bangladesh will host the event, which is the third time for them, where they have hosted earlier in 1988 and 2000. This event is currently being played from 11th March to 22nd March 2012, which was rescheduled from 1st March 2012. It has been rescheduled for avoiding the conflict with the ODI tri-series in Australia that also included Sri Lanka and India, which ended-up on March 8. This tournament features the four Test-playing nations from Asia including, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. India is the defending 2010 Asia Cup Champion.

The points system of the Asia Cup 2012 is as follows;

Win – 4 points
Loss – No Points
Tie/No result: 2 points
Bonus point: If a team wins, with a run rate ≥ 1.25 times that of the opposing team, the winning team gets 1 bonus point.

Rules for the team to qualify for the final, if there is any tie in points between two or more teams,

The team having the higher number of wins
If a tie in number of wins between two or more teams, the team with more wins against the other teams who have equal number of points and wins
If still equal, the team with the higher number of bonus points
If still equal, the team with the greater net run rate

Tendulkar becomes the first batsman to score the 100th international century, getting to the milestone against Bangladesh at the Shere Bangla stadium in Mirpur at around 5:05pm local time on March 16, 2012. It ended up to a year-long wait in the cricket history, and this was his first ODI hundred against the Bangladesh team, completing his set of centuries against every Full Member country in both Tests and ODIs. The 100th century was made in the 44th over with a nudge behind square leg, one of his lucky strokes to reach a century. Despite the huge amount of hype surrounding the landmark, there was no extraordinary celebration. Asia Cup 2012 was a great win for India with the Tendulkar-Raina partnership for the third wicket yielding 86 runs in a 10.5 overs and Mahendra Singh Dhoni blasting a couple boundaries to take India past 280.


Pooja Rajput  is a well known author who writes articles for Newspaper website that covers Hindi News, Hindi Jokes , State News in Hindi and Entertainment News etc. visit for more details.

Leave a Reply

Join With Us